Sign In
District Site Header Image

Activities

Austinaires and Choralaires

Advisor: Kalle Akkerman
Contact: kalle.akkerman@austin.k12.mn.us
The Austinaires & Choralaires are vocal audition groups that perform at district events, music concerts, and some community events. Contact Kalle Akkerman for audition information.

Jazz One, Packer Jazz, and Scarlet Jazz

Advisor: Christoph Dundas
Contact: christoph.dundas@austin.k12.mn.us
Jazz One, Packer Jazz, and Scarlet Jazz are audition groups that perform at district events, music concerts, and some community events. Contact Christoph Dundas for audition information.

La Fiera

Advisor: Gene Schott
Contact: gene.schott@austin.k12.mn.us
La Fiera is an orchestra audition group that performs at district events, music concerts, and some community events. Contact Gene Schott for audition information.

Pep Band

Advisor: Christoph Dundas
Contact: christoph.dundas@austin.k12.mn.us
Pep Band is a fall and winter activity. Students attend numerous athletic events through the fall and winter to play for the activity.

Drama

Advisor: Gordy Handelen
Contact:
Austin High School typically has a fall musical production as well as a spring production. Any AHS student is welcome to audition for any of our productions.

Knowledge Bowl

Advisors: Arik Andersen and Lisa Sanders
Contact: arik.andersen@austin.k12.mn.us or lisa.sanders@austin.k12.mn.us
Knowledge Bowl kicks off in mid-November and ends with the chance to qualify for a state tournament in March. They usually practice once to twice a week and compete in the southern region approximately three times during the season.

Math League

Advisor: Wayne Olson
Contact: wayne.olson@austin.k12.mn.us
Math League begins in December and ends with the chance to qualify for a state tournament in March. They typically practice once a week and compete in 4 to 5 competitions during the season.

Science Olympiad

Advisor: Tisha Pischke
Contact: tisha.pischke@austin.k12.mn.us
Science Olympiad starts at the end of October. They compete at a southern sectional at the end of February and will have the chance to compete for state the first part of March.

Go Green Club

Advisor: Lisa Rueckert
Contact: lisa.rueckert@austin.k12.mn.us
The Go Green Club is a yearlong club that works to promote environmentally friendly projects, practices and ideas within Austin High School, the school district and the community.

Student Council

Advisor: Emily Hovland
Contact: emily.hovland@austin.k12.mn.us
Student Council is in charge of homecoming week, 5 days of Giving as well as Spring Fling week. They also attend SED and the State conference as well as send people to nationals.

Table Tennis

Advisor: Rayce Hardy
Contact: rayce.hardy@austin.k12.mn.us
Table tennis is an activity that takes place in the winter. They typically meet one to two times a week and finish their season with participation in the state tournament.

MAAP Stars

Advisor: Eliza Kelly
Contact: eliza.kelly@austin.k12.mn.us
This group is our leadership team in our Area Learning Center. They put on events, including Haunted Hallway and Austin's Got Talent, and develop engaging ideas to help students in our ALC connect with the community and district.

Peer Power Partners

Advisor: LeighAnn Korn
Contact: leighann.korn@austin.k12.mn.us
This is a group of leaders at AHS who mentor some of our students with special needs. They meet once a week and also do activities and social things outside the school day.

Link Crew

Advisor: Joee Winter
Contact: joee.winter@austin.k12.mn.us
This is a freshman connection experience that links some of our junior and senior link leaders with our incoming freshman to develop connections and role models as they start their high school journey. Link Leaders are selected each spring and there are trainings that take place for them. The Link event for freshman takes place in the fall before school starts as well as some follow up time throughout the year.

Lunch Club

Advisor: Julia Pena-Marconi
Contact: julia.pena-marconi@austin.k12.mn.us
This is a group of Austin High School students as well as some of our students from our Horizons program that have lunch together once a week and share challenges and similarities of their school experiences.

Youth Leadership

Advisor: Madison Wagner
Contact: madison.wagner@austin.k12.mn.us
Youth leadership is a community action group that does events including, Mr Austin, The AHS Blood Drive and the Strides for a Cure race in May.

Art Club

Advisors: Jake Levisen
Contact: jake.levisen@austin.k12.mn.us
Art Club is for our students to continue to purse and develop their interest in the arts outside of the classroom. We have two student art shows each year as well as our students compete in the Region 1AA Visual Arts competition in the spring.

National Honor Society

Advisor: Sharon Alms
Contact: sharon.alms@austin.k12.mn.us
The Austin High School Chapter of the National honor society is dedicated to Character, Scholarship, Leadership and Service.

Criteria for NHS Membership

Application for NHS Membership

NHS Recommendation Form

DECA

Advisor: Troy Watkins
Contact: troy.watkins@austin.k12.mn.us
DECA is a program to support young entrepreneurs as they learn about business, marketing, advertising and other areas. Our DECA program participates in the regional and state DECA competitions as well as Nationals if students qualify.

Skills USA

Advisor: Craig Knippel
Contact: craig.knippel@austin.k12.mn.us
Skill USA is a club for many of our students interested in developing their skills in the areas of technical, skilled, service and health industries. It is a yearlong program and our chapter participates in regional and State competition.

Robotics

Advisor: Stephen Zaffke
Contact: stephen.zaffke@austin.k12.mn.us
Austin High School participates in First Robotics. This program is a yearlong program with a Kickoff event in October and a State tournament in March.

Clay Target Club

Advisor: Gus Maxfield and Sue Thorpe
Contact: gus@lmboilersystems.com or sthorpe66@gmail.com
The Clay Target club participates in competitions throughout the region.

Clay Target Schedule

Mountain Biking Club

Advisor: Gareth Hataye
Contact: gshataye@gmail.com
The mountain biking team participates and competes in the spring and fall. They have weekly practices as well as competitions on the weekends.

Bowling

Advisor: Elijah Raymond
Contact:
The bowling team competes in the fall at Echo Lanes bowling alley. They practice and compete each week and have the chance to qualify for the state tournament at the end of the season.