Skip To Main Content

Austin Public Schools

401 3rd Ave NW
Austin, MN  55912

District Office Hours:
Monday - Friday
7:30AM - 4:30PM

Wellness Committee

The Wellness Committee is an advisory committee to the Austin Public Schools' administration and school board. The purpose of the Wellness Committee is to ensure that Wellness practices in Austin Public Schools align with our strategic priorities. Members of this committee come from the Austin Community and Austin Public Schools. Meetings are held every other month at 4:00 in the District Office Conference Room.

The Committee:

  • will review the triennial wellness assessment submitted to MDE
  • make recommendations for wellness practices to be implemented in Austin Public Schools
  • will review and approve health related grants prior to their submission to granting organizations
  • promote high impact wellness resources available through the school district

Meeting Schedule For 2023-2024:

  • February 13
  • April 9
  • June 11

Wellness Committee Members

Kate Blocker - Mayo Clinic
Karen Dunbar - Ellis Middle School
Kathy Green - School Board
Lisa Groth - Finance and Operations
Tanner Lange - Food and Nutrition Services
Jen Lawhead - Community Education
Andrea Malo - Teaching and Learning
Carol McAlister - School Board
Heidy Morey - Ellis Middle School
Derek Picha - Sumner Elementary School
Olivia Sweeney - Banfield Elementary School
Heather Voigt - Mayo Clinic
Chris Weis - Mower County