Skip To Main Content

Austin Public Schools

401 3rd Ave NW
Austin, MN  55912

District Office Hours:
Monday - Friday
7:30AM - 4:30PM

World's Best Workforce Committee

The World’s Best Workforce bill, passed in 2013, strives to ensure every school district in the state is making strides to increase student performance.

Each district must develop a plan that addresses the following five goals below. Please click below to expand our plans for each goal identified.


The World's Best Workforce Committee is established by Minnesota law to provide parents and community members’ involvement and input in respect to school programs and curricular offerings. Committee consists of parents, community members, staff, teachers, administrators and school board members.

Meetings are held bi-monthly on the second Tuesday of the month from from 4 – 5:30 pm in AHS Conference Room A.

2023-24 Meeting Schedule: September 12, November 14, January 9, March 9, May 14

Board Members: Cece Kroc, Don Leathers, and Kathy Green 
Administrators: Katie Baskin

Our Committee

The World's Best Workforce committee is established by Minnesota law to provide parents and community members' involvement and input in respect to school programs and curricular offerings.

This committee consists of parents, community members, staff, teachers, administrators, and school board members.

World's Best Work Force is the primary link in involving the community in the systems accountability process.

Persons interested in serving as a member on this committee may contact the Office of Teaching and Learning at 460-1912 for further information.

Best Practices Grant

The Austin Public Schools World’s Best Workforce (WBWF) invites you to submit a proposal for funding of professional learning. The Best Practice Grant process may be used for individual requests or group requests that impact the APS system. The fundamental purpose of staff development in professional practice is to improve student learning. Providing staff with individual and professional organizational growth and development opportunities prepares them to provide excellent educational experiences for students.

Please reach out to the office of Teaching and Learning for information and forms for Best Practice Applications.

Best Practices Grant Process

World's Best Workforce Committee Members

  • Katie Baskin, Executive Director of Academics and Administrative Services
  • Kristi Beckman, Equity Coordinator
  • Sheila Berger, Coordinator of K-4 Curriculum, Teacher Mentorship, and EL Programming
  • Natalie Bunnell, Parent
  • Karla Carroll, Southgate Teacher
  • Robin Garcia, AHS Success Coach
  • Lynn Hemann, Neveln Principal
  • Christine Hulsebus, Ellis Special Education Teacher
  • Ron Kelly, Community Member
  • Eric Kossoris, Neveln Behavior Interventionist
  • CeCe Kroc, School Board Member
  • Jen Lawhead, Director of Community Education
  • Amy Learn, Woodson Teacher
  • Jim Leask, Community Member
  • Don Leathers, School Board Member
  • Andrea Malo, Coordinator of 5-12 Curriculum, Teacher Mentorship, and Gifted and Talented Programming
  • Ashley McLaren, Parent
  • Dr. Joey Page, Superintendent
  • Kim Potter, ECFE Teacher
  • Jill Rollie, Sumner Principal
  • Lisa Rueckert, AHS Teacher
  • Matt Schmit, AHS Principal
  • Erin Schumacher, Woodson Teacher
  • Katie Tharp, Neveln Teacher
  • Nikki Tolde, Teacher
  • Katie Ulwelling, Community Member
  • Varinh Van Vugt, Parent